Texas Marriage License Questions
Q: What is the cost of a marriage license?
A: The marriage license fee varies from county to county. Fee is $72 in Harris County. Prices will vary in other counties. Check with the County Clerk's office of other counties for their fees.
Accepted forms of payment are cash in most counties (some counties may accept other forms of payment).
Q: What kind of ID is needed to get a marriage license?
A: You must have a valid id such as a drivers license, Id card issued by DPS, valid passport, resident alien card, or other government issued identification.
Q: What are the residency requirements for Texas?
A: None. You do not have to be a previous or current resident of Texas to obtain a marriage license that is valid statewide.
Q: Is there a waiting period from the application date to the date the license is issued?
A: No, you will receive your license immediately
Q: Is there a waiting period from the date the license is issued to the date I am allowed to marry?
A: Yes, there is a mandatory 72 hour waiting period. The waiting period is automatically waived due to active military status, however you will need to show your military ID..
Q: What is the minimum age a woman or man may marry?
A: You must be 18 years old or older to marry without parental consent. A birth certificate may be necessary to show proof of age.
Q: What if one or both of us is younger than 18?
A: If either partner is under 18, parents or legal guardians must be present. If a parent can not be present, due to death, separation, divorce or other circumstances, proper evidence must be presented for verification. You will need a certified copy of your birth certificate. If you are under 16 you can not marry without a court order.
Q: Are blood tests or physical exams required?
A: No blood test or physical exam is required.
Q: How long does a marriage license remain valid once it's issued?
A: Your license will expire 90 days from the date it is issued.
Q: What if one or both partners have been divorced or have had a spouse die?
A: If previously married, the date of divorce or date of spouse's death must be provided. If the divorce or spouse's death had taken place within the last 30 days, bring a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate. Information about obtaining a copy of your divorce records or spouse's death certificate can be found by CLICKING HERE..
Q: Do we have to apply for our marriage license in person?
A: Yes, both will need to apply in person. If one is unable to appear, you will need to obtain an ABSENT APPLICATION form, take it to that person, have them fill it out and have it notarized. Click on the following links for the instructions and the form.
Q: Are proxy marriages legal?
A: Yes, marriage by proxy is allowed only for active military applicants. You will need to complete the Affidavit of Absent Applicant on Application for Marriage License form.
Q: Are cousin marriages legal?
A: No, cousin marriages are not allowed. As of September 1, 2005, first cousin marriages were no longer allowed.
Q: Are common law marriages legal?
A: Yes, common-law marriages are allowed.
Q: Are same sex marriages legal?
A: No, same-sex marriages are not legal in Texas.